Your browser is outdated. Upgrade your browser for better user experience and security

IN EXCESS OF 40 EXCEPTIONAL CARS REACQUAINT WITH AUTOWORLD’S MAJOR END-OF-YEAR EXHIBITIONS

Coming up to the end of the year there will be more than just the city and Christmas tree lights that will be sparkling! Stars will definitely also shine brightly in the eyes of all automotive enthusiasts. In excess of forty exceptional cars will epitomise one of the greatest periods in automotive history. None other than the Supercars, brought together in a unique and scenarized area in the heart of one of Europe’s most important automotive museums Autoworld.

All the Supercars on display have left their mark in history ranging from the post-war years up to 2015. That is to say that none of these models can be acquired new via the makes that distribute them. The keen buyer will only find them via specialised auction houses or private collectors wishing to part with theirs.
For a major part the Supercars exhibited emanate from international museums or private collections. In fact some of these have never been exhibited.

All this makes this exhibition utterly unique!
This is Autoworld’s Christmas present to its visitors.

A SUPERCAR... WHAT IS IT ?

In a way everyone has their own interpretation because the term “Supercar” is often a combination of various factors such as exclusivity, the number of models produced, the price, the rarity, the speed. The Oxford English Dictionary defines it as “a high performance sportscar”.
While the term ‘supercar’ may have been used in the 1920s, it wasn’t until the mid-1950s that sports cars with outstanding performance really entered the marketplace. Early pioneers for the supercar segment included the 1954 Mercedes 300SL and the 1953 Chevrolet Corvette C1.

In the mid-1960s supercars as we think of them today began to release. Some significant developments in the 60s include the creation of the Ford GT, which came about because Ferrari refused to join Ford, and the release of the mid-engined Lamborghini Miura, which was designed from the start as a road car. The Ford GT became a staple of the supercar and American muscle car scene, proving performance and exquisite design can go hand-in-hand.
A fuel crisis in the early 70s almost ended the supercar, but they managed to survive and grow from here. The first mass-market turbo road cars, including the likes of the Porsche 911 Turbo, were released. The 911 Turbo stood out with its eccentric design elements and stellar performance. With the birth of the 911 Turbo, Porsche cemented themselves in the supercar scene, and have remained there to this day.
Arguably the most important supercar of this generation was the Lamborghini Countach. This mid-engine model had a striking design that stood out among the pack. It’s V12 engine was longitudinally-mounted with slight modifications to the Miura’s engine placement. The end result had the engine sandwiched between the rear differential and mid-mounted transmission. The Countach remains a favorite among supercar fanatics and gearheads around the world, and rightfully so.

THE PORSCHE 959 AND FERRARI F40
PAVE THE WAY FOR THE FOLLOWING GENERATIONS...

During this time Nürburgring also garnered worldwide attention thanks to the iconic RUF CTR ‘Yellowbird’, the legendary rivalry between Porsche and Ferrari heated up, and, the first 200 mph car, the Ferrari F40 road racer also hit the streets. Porsche unleashed the Porsche 959 here, and it sparked a heated rivalry between the F40 and 959. Both of these models made a huge impact, and paved the way for supercars of the next generation. Supercars for years to come would model after the legendary Ferrari F40, not just the Porsche 959, hinting on its sleek design, powerful corners, and aggressive front-end.
In the early ‘90s, the Honda NSX proved that a supercar could also be reliable and friendly for daily driving.

The development of hypercars continued with the Bugatti brand for the modern era and its EB110. The 1990s also birthed a slew of exciting and groundbreaking supercars. Some of the standouts of the crowded ‘90s lineup include cars like the Ferrari F50, Porsche GT1, McLaren F1, Jaguar XJ220, Lotus Esprit V8, Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR and the Lamborghini Diablo.

LES SUPERCARS EXHIBITED AT AUTOWORLD

Of the forty or so vehicles that will be exhibited at the end of the year, let us in the first instance mention those of the exhibition’s main partners, of which one will come across a few contemporary surprises in the spaces they will be allotted (see further down in this press release).

Lamborghini Miura

When Ferruccio Lamborghini started sailing under his own banner, he dreamed of comfortable GT machines that were so well thought out that one would want to drive them endlessly. As such not super sports cars. This until behind Ferruccio’s back the shrewd engineer Gianpaolo Dallara designed a revolutionary chassis with an awesome rear-engine V12. Following the revelation of this technical base at the Turin car show in ’65 the reactions were so wildly enthusiastic that Lamborghini was obliged to take on the project. One year later Bertone had prepared such a fine bodywork that the car was already a legend. It was the fastest sports car of its era and the first Lamborghini was named after a well-known breed of bulls.

LaFerrari

What started out with the F40 and then went on further via the F50 and the Enzo, finally culminated with the unreal LaFerrari, a car that from every fibre exudes what Ferrari truly represents and they christened it the somewhat toe curling name LaFerrari. Just as with the Porsche 918 and the McLaren P1 the LaFerrari calls on hybrid technology: here the V12 in combination with the electric motor develop 963 bhp. This car is a milestone in more than one aspect. To the regret of Pininfarina, the former purveyor to Royal Households, this is namely the first Ferrari entirely designed in-house. In true Ferrari tradition they always build one less than they believe they would be able to sell. In this case 499 units, that literally flew out of the door at one million euro each. Even stronger: only highly faithful clients could ‘receive’ one.

Porsche 959

At the time of its creation, the 959 was a revolutionary car, a marvel of concentrated technology powered by a small 450 hp twinturbo six-cylinder engine (less than three litres) with four valves per cylinder. It took a long time to develop, and was only delivered in 1987. It was then presented as a showcase of the brand’s superb know-how. It was not used competitively until the Paris- Dakar rally, where it met with success. The 959 served as the starting-point for the 4x4 versions of the 911.

McLaren P1

Together with Williams, Lotus and Cooper McLaren was one of the many ‘garage owners’, as Enzo Ferrari gladly stated, looking to denigrate the English race teams. More often than not these were amateur teams tinkering with racing cars in scruffy workshops as they struggled to reach the Formula 1 world. McLaren always stood out above the others thanks to Ron Dennis, the extremely cool CEO. His team having completely dominated Formula 1 in the ‘80s, he wanted to go one step further by building the ultimate sportscar for the open road. That became the F1 with a BMW V12, three seats and a central steering wheel, all developed by chief engineer Gordon Murray and designed by Peter Stevens. In the ‘90s it was by far the fastest that money – a huge amount of money –could buy. Yet the 107 buyers made the deal of their lives, because today such an F1 is worth several millions. Rowan – Mister Bean – Atkinson is one of the lucky ones.

Bugatti Veyron

In 2000, the Bugatti Veyron prototype, designed by Hartmut Warkuss and his team of designers, was unveiled at the Detroit, Geneva and Paris Motor Shows. It bears the name of one of the greatest pre-war pilots, who, along with Jean-Pierre Wimille, won the last Bugatti victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1939. After five years of development, the production of the Veyron kicks off in Molsheim in the brand new « Atelier », erected in close proximity to Saint Jean castle.
This sports car is the fastest road-use car in the world. Some eighty Veyron 16.4s, built in keeping with the spirit of the brand - art, form and technique - are produced each year at Bugatti’s original headquarters, where most of the owners come to pick up their cars in person... as in the days of Ettore.

In addition, the visitor will come across some thirty other models. Among these, obviously! a Mercedes 300SL Gullwing, an Aston Martin One77, a BMW M1, a Ford GT40, a Jaguar XJ220, a Lexus LFA, a Honda NSX, and many more.

TWO OPEN "BLACK BOXES"

This exhibition is made possible thanks to the support of two main sponsors: the D’Ieteren company (Porsche, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Bentley) and the Ginion Group (Ferrari, McLaren, Rolls- Royce). Each of these will take up a place in a privatised space (a “Black box”), in which each will display its current Supercar models. The latter will vary over the month.
These spaces will be open and the public will then have the opportunity to come across and discover the current Super and Hypercars of the 7 makes represented.

Your browser is outdated. Upgrade your browser for better user experience and security

PLUS DE 40 VOITURES D'EXCEPTION RENOUENT AVEC LES EXPOSITIONS MAJEURES DE FIN D'ANNEE A AUTOWORLD

En cette fin d’année, il n’y aura pas que les lumières des villes et des sapins qui étincelleront ! Les étoiles brilleront certainement aussi dans les yeux de tous les fans automobiles. Plus de quarante voitures d’exception illustreront un chapitre d’une des grandes périodes de l’histoire de l’automobile. Celle des Supercars, réunies en un espace unique et scénarisé au cœur d’un des plus importants musées automobiles européens, Autoworld.

Toutes les Supercars exposées ont marqué l’histoire depuis les années d’après-guerre jusqu’à 2015. C'est-à-dire qu’aucune d’entre-elles ne peut désormais s’acquérir neuve via les marques qui les distribuent. L’acquéreur intéressé ne les trouvera que via des ventes aux enchères spécialisées ou des collectionneurs privés qui souhaitent s’en séparer.
Les Supercars exposées proviennent en grande partie de musées internationaux et de collections privées. Certaines n'ont d’ailleurs encore jamais été exposées.

Paragraaf – Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Donec a augue a augue pretium facilisis eget at nisl. Ut consequat sollicitudin rhoncus. Sed justo ex, hendrerit in purus eget, condimentum luctus libero. Sed dictum scelerisque turpis, non sagittis neque sodales nec. Maecenas ac libero at ante ornare fermentum. Morbi dictum aliquam sagittis. Sed convallis mauris nec turpis molestie, ut convallis mi ullamcorper.

Tout cela rend cette exposition absolument unique !
C’est le cadeau de Noël d’Autoworld à son public.

UNE SUPERCAR... C'EST QUOI ?

Chacun y va un peu de sa propre interprétation car, pour les fans, le terme « Supercar » est souvent un mélange de divers facteurs tels que l’exclusivité, le nombre d’exemplaires produits, le prix, la rareté, la vitesse... L’Oxford English Dictionnary le définit comme « une voiture de sport hautes performances ».
Le terme « Supercar », bien qu’il ait pu être utilisé assez confidentiellement dès les années ‘20, ne fait encore qu’une timide apparition dans le langage courant au milieu des années ’50, avec la mise sur le marché de voitures de sport aux performances exceptionnelles, telles la Mercedes 300SL (1954) ou la Chevrolet Corvette C1 (1953).

Il se popularise dans les années ’60 avec, entre autres, la création de la Ford GT, fabriquée suite au refus de Ferrari de rejoindre Ford, et la sortie de la Lamborghini Miura à moteur central, initialement conçue comme une routière. La Ford GT est d’ailleurs devenue une incontournable Supercar, prouvant que performances et design peuvent aller de pair.

Au début des années ’70, la crise pétrolière a manqué avoir raison de ces véhicules d’exception. Ils ont pourtant réussi à survivre et à se développer. On vit, à cette époque, le lancement des premières voitures de route turbo grand public, dont la Porsche 911 Turbo. Cette dernière s'est démarquée par ses éléments de conception excentriques et ses performances exceptionnelles. Avec la naissance de la 911 Turbo, Porsche s'est imposé sur la scène des Supercars où il brille encore toujours aujourd’hui.

La Supercar la plus importante de cette génération est probablement la Lamborghini Countach. Ce modèle à moteur central avait un design saisissant qui se démarquait du reste du peloton. Son moteur V12 fut monté longitudinalement avec de légères modifications à l'emplacement du moteur de la Miura. Le résultat final met le moteur en sandwich entre le différentiel arrière et la transmission centrale. La Countach reste, à juste titre, l'une des préférées des fans de Supercars et des fous de mécanique du monde entier.

LES PORSCHE 959 ET FERRARI F40 OUVRENT LA VOIE AUX GENERATIONS SUIVANTES...

Dans les années ‘80, le Nürburgring joue un rôle important. On y vit les records réalisés par l'emblématique RUF CTR « Yellowbird » et la naissance de la légendaire rivalité entre Porsche avec sa 959 et Ferrari avec sa F40. Ces deux modèles eurent un impact énorme et ont ouvert la voie aux Supercars de la génération suivante.
La Ferrari F40, et non plus uniquement la Porsche 959, furent les exemples à suivre.
Au début des années ‘90, la Honda NSX a prouvé qu'une Supercar pouvait également être fiable et conviviale pour une conduite quotidienne.

Aujourd’hui, on parle également d’Hypercars. Leur développement s'est poursuivi avec la marque Bugatti pour l'ère moderne et son EB110. Les années ‘90 ont également donné naissance à une multitude de supercars passionnantes et révolutionnaires. Certaines des vedettes de la large gamme de ces années-là comptent des voitures comme la Ferrari F50, la Porsche GT1, la McLaren F1, la Jaguar XJ220, la Lotus Esprit V8, la Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR et la Lamborghini Diablo.

LES SUPERCARS EN EXPOSITION A AUTOWORLD

Sur la quarantaine de véhicules qui seront exposés en cette fin d’année, citons tout d’abord ceux des partenaires principaux de l’exposition, dont on retrouvera quelques surprises contemporaines dans les espaces qui leur seront alloués (voir plus bas dans ce communiqué "Black boxes").

La Lamborghini Miura

Quand Ferruccio Lamborghini se lance dans l’aventure automobile, il rêve de produire de confortables GT si parfaites que l’on ne voudrait plus en descendre. Donc, pas question d’ultrasportives. Jusqu’au jour où l’ingénieur Gianpaolo Dallara conçoit à l’insu de Ferruccio un châssis révolutionnaire doté d’un spectaculaire V12 à l’arrière. Présentée au Salon de Turin de 1965, cette base technique soulève un enthousiasme tel que Lamborghini n’a d’autre choix que de continuer le projet. L’année d’après, Bertone lui confectionne un costume si séduisant que la voiture devient une légende de son vivant. C’est la sportive la plus rapide de son époque et la première Lamborghini à porter le nom d’une race réputée de taureaux.

La LaFerrari

La saga entamée avec la F40 et prolongée par la F50 et l’Enzo a finalement abouti à la surnaturelle LaFerrari, une voiture dont chaque fibre est à ce point gorgée de l’ADN de Ferrari qu’on l’a baptisée LaFerrari.
Tout comme la Porsche 918 et la McLaren P1, la LaFerrari est un véhicule hybride : à eux deux, le V12 et le moteur électrique sortent 963 ch. C’est la première Ferrari conçue de A à Z en interne. Au grand dam de Pininfarina, l’ancien carrossier attitré. Par tradition, Ferrari construit toujours un exemplaire de moins que ce qu’il pense vendre, soit 499 dans ce cas-ci. Même au prix d’un million d’euros, ils se sont littéralement vendus comme des petits pains. Au point que seuls les fidèles d’entre les fidèles ont pu l’obtenir.

La Porsche 959

Lors de sa création, la 959 était une voiture révolutionnaire, un véritable concentré de technologie, motorisée par un petit six cylindres (moins de trois litres) biturbo à quatre soupapes par cylindre de 450 cv. Son développement fut long et elle ne fut livrée qu’en 1987. Elle est alors présentée comme une vitrine du magnifique savoir-faire de la marque. Elle ne sera utilisée en compétition qu’au rallye Paris-Dakar où elle connaîtra le succès. La 959 servit à la mise au point des versions 4x4 de la 911.

La McLaren P1

Comme Williams, Lotus et Cooper, McLaren était un de ces teams de F1 qu’Enzo Ferrari adorait dénigrer en les qualifiant de «garagistes». De fait, il s’agissait de teams amateurs qui bricolaient des voitures dans des ateliers crasseux, et s’étaient frayés un chemin jusqu’en F1. Grâce à Ron Dennis, son CEO charismatique et tellement cool, McLaren fut toujours au-dessus du lot. Après avoir complètement dominé la discipline dans les années 80, il visa plus haut encore en imaginant de produire la sportive de route ultime. C’est ce que fut la F1, motorisée par un V12 BMW, dotée de 3 places avec le conducteur au centre, conçue par le top ingénieur Gordon Murray et dessinée par Peter Stevens. Dans les années 90, elle fut de loin la voiture la plus rapide que de (très) riches clients puissent s’offrir. 107 de ces clients firent l’affaire de leur vie, car une F1 vaut aujourd’hui quelques millions d’euros. Parmi ces chanceux, Rowan Atkinson, alias Mister Bean.

La Bugatti Veyron

En 2000, le prototype Bugatti Veyron, dessiné par Hartmut Warkuss et son équipe de designers, est dévoilé aux Salons de Detroit, Genève et Paris. Il porte le nom d’un des plus grands pilotes de l’avant-guerre, Pierre Veyron, qui remporta, avec Jean-Pierre Wimille, la dernière victoire de Bugatti aux 24 Heures du Mans, en 1939. Après cinq ans de mise au point, la Veyron entre en production à Molsheim, dans l’« Atelier » flambant neuf érigé à quelques pas du château Saint Jean.
Cette voiture de sport était la plus rapide au monde à circuler sur route. Quelque 80 Veyron 16.4, construites dans le respect de la marque - art, forme et technique - sortent chaque année du siège traditionnel de Bugatti, où la plupart des propriétaires viennent directement en prendre possession... comme au temps d’Ettore.

Le visiteur découvrira également une bonne trentaine d’autres modèles. Parmi eux, bien sûr !, une Mercedes 300SL Gullwing, une Aston Martin One77, une BMW M1, une Ford GT40, une Jaguar XJ220, une Lexus LFA, une Honda NSX, et encore bien d’autres.

DEUX BLACK BOXES OUVERTES

Cette exposition est rendue possible grâce au soutien de deux partenaires principaux : la société D’Ieteren (Porsche, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Bentley) et le Ginion Group (Ferrari, McLaren, Rolls- Royce). Chacun d’eux s’installera dans un espace privatisé (une « Black box »), dans laquelle il présentera ses modèles de Supercars actuels. Ces derniers varieront au cours du mois.
Ces espaces seront ouverts et le public aura dès lors la possibilité de découvrir les Super et Hypercars actuels des 7 marques représentées.