Dear visitors, 
on Tuesday, June 25 the museum will exceptionally be closed for public. 
We apologize for the inconvenience. 

2023 is a special year when it comes to motorsport: the mythical Circuit du Mans is in fact celebrating its 100th anniversary! The Race of the Century is to be held on the coming 10th and 11th June.

As a warm-up for the occasion, Autoworld will be presenting its "24 Hours of Le Mans, 100 years of race history" exhibition, being held from 1st April through to 28th May 2023. 

An exhibition to dive into the 24 Hours of Le Mans universe, just as though you were there!

The carefully selected fifteen or so cars largely contribute to the exhibition, but not only that! All the circuit’s finer details are reproduced in the show: throbbing engine noises on the starting grid, not forgetting the driver changes. Nothing is left to chance! Small films retracing the history and the greatest race moments will make you travel through space and time!

The cars exhibited are all part of a true story of the 24 Hours of Le Mans; whether they actually competed or were used as practice machines!

Let us take a look at three of the iconic models to be found on our warm-up track:

Is the "Le Mans 66" film one of your favourites? You will be able to admire the 1966 Ford GT40P used for the renowned race’s test sessions in which Ford dethroned Ferrari by claiming the top 3 places! It was even the reserve car for the competition.

We now move ahead to 1976, to discover the Inaltéra. The name doesn’t ring a bell? It was in fact the first car to appear under the name of its sponsor! It was also the first car designed and developed by Jean Rondeau (French racing driver and car manufacturer who was the only one to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans behind the wheel of his very own creation). It is also on board of this Inaltera that Christine, one of our Belgian women pilots and Lella Lombardi won the "Coupe des Dames" in 1977.

We conclude this overview of the exhibition with the Peugeot 905. The latter claimed a double in 1992 when it won the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the World Championship. It has to be said that its design proved to be an asset which certainly favoured its victories: its chassis benefitted from the Dassault Aviation technology and its engine was near on what was produced in Formula 1 at the time.

Should you wish to take the experience a step further, why not take a seat in one of the simulators (during the weekend) to live through the sensations of racing drivers and try to set a best time!

This exhibition is the outcome of the collaboration between the Automobile Club de l'Ouest and Autoworld

Chers visiteurs, 
Le musée sera exceptionnellement fermé au public le mardi 25.06.2024.
Veuillez nous excuser pour le désagrément. 

2023 est une année spéciale pour le sport automobile: le mythique Circuit du Mans fête en effet ses 100 ans! La Course du Siècle aura lieu les 10 et 11 juin prochains.

A cette occasion et en guise d'échauffement, Autoworld présente son expo "24H of Le Mans, 100 years of race history" qui se déroulera du 1er avril 2023 au 28 mai 2023.

Une expo pour vous plonger dans l'univers des 24H du Mans, comme si vous y étiez! 

La quinzaine de voitures sélectionnée avec soin y contribue grandement, mais pas que! Tous les détails du circuit sont reproduits dans la mise en scène: du bruit des moteurs, à la place des voitures sur la grille de départ aux échanges avec les pilotes. Rien n'est laissé au hasard! Des petits films retraçant l'histoire et les plus beaux moments des courses termineront de vous faire voyager dans l'espace et dans le temps!

Les voitures exposées ont toutes une vraie histoire avec les 24H du Mans; qu'elles aient concouru ou qu'elles aient servi pour les tests! 

Jetons un oeil à trois modèles emblématiques à retrouver sur notre piste d'échauffement: 

Le film "Le Mans 66" est un de vos préférés? Vous pourrez admirer la Ford GT40P de 1966 qui a été utilisée pour les essais de la fameuse course au cours de laquelle Ford a détrôné Ferrari en s'emparant des 3 premières places! Elle était même la voiture réserve pour la compétition.

On avance un peu dans le temps, jusqu'en 1976 pour découvrir la Inaltéra. Ce nom ne vous dit rien? Il s'agit du premier bolide à se présenter sous le nom de son sponsor! Elle est également la première voiture conçue et développée par Jean Rondeau (pilote et constructeur automobile français qui fût le seul à remporter les 24H du Mans au volant de sa propre création). C’est également à bord de cette Inaltéra que Christine, une de nos femmes pilotes belges et Lella Lombardi remportèrent la « Coupe des Dames » en 1977. 

On termine cet aperçu de l'exposition avec la Peugeot 905. Cette dernière fait un doublé en 1992 en remportant les 24H du Mans et le Championnat du monde. ll faut dire qu'elle présente un atout dans sa conception qui a certainement favorisé ses victoires: son châssis a bénéficié de la technologie de Dassault Aviation et son moteur est proche de ce qui se faisait en Formule 1 à l'époque.

Si vous voulez pousser l'expérience encore plus loin, vous pourrez prendre place dans les simulateurs (le week-end) pour vivre les sensations des pilotes et essayer de décrocher le meilleur temps!

Cette exposition est le fruit de la collaboration entre l'Automobile Club de l'Ouest et Autoworld."