Dear visitors, 
on Wednesday, April 24 the museum will exceptionally be closed for public. 
We apologize for the inconvenience. 

Every year in February/Match, Autoworld devotes time to the Volkswagen Beetle.
On this occasion the exhibition will be dedicated to its long-time companion, the Combi.
Just as the ID. Buzz arrives in Belgium the “VW Love Bugs - The Buzz Edition” exhibition will retrace the epic story of 7 generations of the Volkswagen Bus, from the first Combi T1 through to the T7, with, as a bonus, of course, the ID. Buzz electric.

Several passionate owners have kindly loaned us their vehicles that will be prominently displayed at Autoworld during two months. Each vehicle will be put in the spotlight with its owner, thanks to a video in which the latter will recount its history, its stories and its collection of anecdotes.

Acquiring a Transporter is never a trivial matter, whether it is used as a work tool or to set off to discover new horizons. It has accompanied so many generations, so many journeys, at times both long and far. Far more than just vehicles, these Volkswagen Combi are above all “at home’ on trips, faithful road-going companions …  They are fitted out, and decorated … in a nutshell, similar to the Beetle, they are pampered like true family members.

It all started back in 1947, with a pencil drawn sketch: the Dutch importer, Ben Pon, spotted a simple flat-bed vehicle at the Volkswagen factory, the ‘Plattenwagen’. From this basic idea on a sheet of paper in his diary he drew the major outlines of a “transporter” fitted with the genetic heritage of the Beetle. Production kicked off in the month of March 1948. It was to be the beginning of a true on-going success story.

The exhibition at Autoworld will not only pay tribute to the entire generation of the Volkswagen Bus but – being the month of the Love Bugs Parade – an area of the museum will be dedicated to the 75th Anniversary of the signing of the import contract of the Volkswagen make for Belgium, and the introduction of its little sister, the Beetle, in Belgium by D’Ieteren.
The Love Bugs Parade, to be held on Sunday 12th February 2023, will have this anniversary as its central theme.

Chers visiteurs, 
Le musée sera exceptionnellement fermé au public le mardi 25.06.2024.
Veuillez nous excuser pour le désagrément. 

Chaque année en février/mars, Autoworld se met à l’heure de la Coccinelle VW. 
Cette fois-ci, c’est à sa compagne de longue date, le Combi, que sera consacrée l’exposition.
Alors que  l’ID-Buzz arrive en Belgique, l’exposition « VW Love Bugs - The Buzz Edition » retracera l’épopée de 7 générations de Bus VW, du premier Combi T1 jusqu’au T7, avec, en prime, bien sûr !, l’ID-Buzz électrique.

Quelques propriétaires passionnés ont aimablement prêté leurs véhicules qui trôneront en bonne place à Autoworld durant deux mois. Chaque véhicule sera mis à l’honneur avec son propriétaire, grâce à une vidéo dans laquelle ce dernier nous contera son parcours, ses histoires et son florilège d’anecdotes.

Car acquérir un Transporter n’est jamais anodin, qu’il soit utilisé comme outil de travail ou pour partir à la découverte de nouveaux horizons.  Il a accompagné tant de générations, tant de périples, parfois longs et lointains.  Bien plus que de simples véhicules, les Combis VW sont surtout des « chez soi » en voyage, de fidèles compagnons de route…  On les aménage, on les décore… bref, tout comme pour les Coccinelle, on les chouchoute comme de véritables membres de la famille.

Saviez-vous que tout commence en 1947 avec un croquis dessiné au crayon : l’importateur néerlandais, Ben Pon, qui aperçoit dans l’usine Volkswagen un simple véhicule à plateau, la ‘Plattenwagen’. Il part de cette idée de base pour dessiner sur une feuille de son agenda les grandes lignes d’un « transporteur » doté du patrimoine génétique de la Coccinelle. La production démarrera au mois de mars 1948. Ce sera le début d’une véritable success story qui n’est pas prête de s’arrêter.

L’exposition à Autoworld rendra non seulement hommage à toute une génération de Bus VW mais - mois de la Love Bugs Parade oblige - un espace du musée sera dédié au 75e Anniversaire de la signature du contrat d’importation de la marque Volkswagen pour la Belgique et de l’introduction de sa petite sœur, la Coccinelle, en Belgique par D’Ieteren.
La Love Bugs Parade, organisée le dimanche 12 février 2023, aura d’ailleurs cet anniversaire comme thème central.