Dear visitors, 
on Tuesday, June 25 the museum will exceptionally be closed for public. 
We apologize for the inconvenience. 

From 19/12 to 23/02, Autoworld is all about Maserati. The Italian marque that elevated 'Gran Turismo' to a way of life is celebrating it 110st birthday. More than a century of glorious history of the brand with the trident is extensively celebrated with a large, temporary exhibition at Autoworld. 

Tipo 26

In December 1914, Officine Alfieri Maserati SA was founded in Bologna, Italy by brothers Alfieri, Ettore and Ernesto Maserati. Before they manufactured cars and motorbikes, their company built spark plugs. Until 1926, the Diatto brothers' company built racing cars. When Diatto ceased to exist, Maserati built its first, own racing car, the Tipo 26. It was another brother, Mario, who gave the Maserati car brand its well-known trident logo, based on the Neptune fountain in Bologna

Maserati 8CTF

In 1932, Alfieri died and a younger Maserati brother, Bindo, joined the company. Just a few years later, in 1937, the brothers sold the company to Adolfo Orsi, moving the headquarters from Bologna to Modena in 1939. In May that year, Maserati celebrated a prestigious victory at the Indianapolis 500 with an 8CTF.

Maserati A6 1500

During World War II, Maserati survived by producing spark plugs for the Italian army. Once the war over, Maserati went back to producing racing cars, as well as the A6 1500, their first public sports car.

Maserati 250F

In 1957, Argentine Juan-Manuel Fangio won his fifth final F1 world title at the wheel of the iconic Maserati 250F. It would remain the marque's only F1 title, but in sports cars Maserati would have many more successes, with the Typo 61 'Birdcage' as the most famous of the sports car racers.

Maserati 3500 GT

The 3500 GT, also launched in 1957, marked a further turning point for Maserati, as the first mass-produced Maserati. It would set the stage for the production of iconic Grand Tourismos like the 5000GT, Quattroporte, Sebring, Mistral and Ghibli. 

Maserati A6GCS

In 1968, Maserati passed into the hands of Citroën. Its most famous scion became the Citroën SM with Maserati engine block. Through Citroën's financial injection and know-how, Maserati launched the Bora in 1971, their first sports car with independent suspension and rear engine. The Khamsin would become the successor to the Ghibli, again with engine at the front.

Maserati Bora

In 1973, when Citroën only narrowly survives the oil crisis and Maserati sees its sales fall by half, the closure of Maserati seems inevitable. Workers occupy the factory halls and keep production going with guarantees from the Italian government, until a buyer is found in the person of Alejandro de Tomaso. 

Maserati Biturbo

From the 1980s, the big, sporty GTs were replaced by the BiTurbo models, which were the basis of every new Maserati until the 1990s. Meanwhile, first Chrysler took over part of the shares, after which Fiat embraced the brand. 

Maserati MC12

The first major model from that partnership became the 3200GT, harking back to Maserati's heyday of big, fast GT cars. The Quattroporte and Ghibli would turn Maserati into a profitable business, with the United States as its biggest market. With the MC12, derived from Ferrari's Enzo, Maserati also reconnected with its successful racing past.

Maserati MC20

Meanwhile in first the Chrysler group and then the PSA group with Citroën also joined the umbrella Stellantis group, reuniting Maserati with two old friends. With models like the Levante and MC20 as a look at what Maserati has in its ranks today, bowing to an incredibly rich history.

Chers visiteurs, 
Le musée sera exceptionnellement fermé au public le mardi 25.06.2024.
Veuillez nous excuser pour le désagrément. 

Du 19/12 au 23/02, Autoworld met à l'honneur Maserati, la marque italienne qui a élevé le "Gran Turismo" au rang de mode de vie célèbre son 110e anniversaire. Plus d'un siècle d'histoire glorieuse de la marque au trident est largement célébré avec une grande exposition temporaire à Autoworld.

Tipo 26

En décembre 1914, Officine Alfieri Maserati SA est fondée à Bologne, en Italie, par les frères Alfieri, Ettore et Ernesto Maserati. Avant de fabriquer des voitures et des motos, leur entreprise fabriquait des bougies d'allumage. Jusqu'en 1926, l'entreprise des frères Diatto construit des voitures de course. Lorsque Diatto a cessé son activité, Maserati a pris l'initiative de fabriquer sa première voiture de course, la Tipo 26. Le logo emblématique de Maserati, représentant le trident, a été créé par un autre frère, Mario, et s'inspire de la fontaine de Neptune à Bologne.

Maserati 8CTF

En 1932, Alfieri Maserati décède et son jeune frère, Bindo, rejoint l'entreprise. Quelques années plus tard, en 1937, les frères vendent l'entreprise à Adolfo Orsi, et en 1939, le siège social est déplacé de Bologne à Modène. En mai de cette même année, Maserati célèbre une victoire prestigieuse à l'Indianapolis 500 avec un 8CTF.

Maserati A6 1500

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Maserati survit en produisant des bougies d'allumage pour l'armée italienne. Une fois la guerre terminée, Maserati reprend la production de voitures de course, ainsi que de l'A6 1500, leur première voiture de sport publique.

Maserati 250F

En 1957, Juan-Manuel Fangio, pilote argentin, remporte son cinquième titre mondial de Formule 1 au volant de la célèbre Maserati 250F. Bien que ce soit le seul titre de Formule 1 de la marque, Maserati a connu de nombreux autres succès dans le domaine des voitures de sport. Le modèle le plus célèbre est le Typo 61 'Birdcage', qui a remporté plusieurs courses de voitures de sport.

Maserati 3500 GT

Également introduite en 1957, la 3500 GT représente un jalon important pour Maserati en tant que première voiture de la marque produite en série. Elle a ouvert la voie à la production d'icônes du Grand Tourisme telles que la 5000 GT, la Quattroporte, la Sebring, la Mistral et la Ghibli.

Maserati A6GCS

En 1968, Maserati passe entre les mains de Citroën. Son rejeton le plus célèbre devient la Citroën SM avec moteur Maserati. Grâce à l'injection financière et au savoir-faire de Citroën, Maserati lance la Bora en 1971, sa première voiture de sport avec suspension indépendante et moteur arrière. La Khamsin devient alors le successeur de la Ghibli, à nouveau avec moteur à l'avant.

Maserati Bora

En 1973, face à la crise pétrolière qui entraine une baisse significative des ventes de Maserati et à la disparition de Citroën, la fermeture de Maserati semble inévitable. Cependant, les travailleurs occupent les halls d'usine et maintiennent la production avec le soutien des garanties gouvernementales italiennes, dans l'attente de trouver un acheteur. Finalement, Alejandro de Tomaso devient cet acheteur, sauvant ainsi l'entreprise de la fermeture.

Maserati Biturbo

À partir des années 1980, les grandes GT sportives sont remplacées par les modèles BiTurbo, qui étaientà la base de chaque nouvelle Maserati jusqu'aux années 1990. Entre-temps, Chrysler reprend une partie des actions, puis Fiat embrasse la marque.

Maserati MC12

Le premier modèle majeur de ce partenariat est la 3200GT, rappelant l'apogée de Maserati avec de grandes voitures de GT rapides. La Quattroporte et la Ghibli transformèrent Maserati en une entreprise rentable, avec les États-Unis comme son plus grand marché. Avec la MC12, dérivée de l'Enzo de Ferrari, Maserati renoue également avec son passé glorieux en course.

Maserati MC20

Entre-temps, le groupe Chrysler, suivi par le groupe PSA avec Citroën, ont également rejoint le groupe Stellantis, réunissant Maserati avec deux partenaires de longue date. Des modèles tels que le Levante et la MC20 offrent un aperçu de la gamme actuelle de Maserati, tout en rendant hommage à son histoire incroyablement riche.